A Vial of Tears

Capturing Tears (Image found via Google Image Search)

~*~*~

And I’m falling
Falling till I can’t feel anymore,
Falling till my senses fade,
Leaving me with nothing
Except the memories of laughter
That I gave up long ago.

Tainted by thorns,
I lie like a dream unrequited,
Encumbered by the weight of existence,
Hanging heavy over the tears
That refuse to choke my voice,
And I am waiting
For the blood to surface
So I can have my taste of pain.

Solitary confinement,
Two words tingling my tongue,
For it is all that I have come to desire
Over the seconds that fly by
Keeping me locked in
With a feeling of despair,
I want to fly to a far off place
To bid my time alone
Till I lay down to close my eyes forever.

The laughing voices echo
From the depths of my past
‘This sound that I gave up long ago
For a vial of tears
More precious than diamonds
That light the night sky.

No tears, no sounds,
No vials of madness
Can make my heart long
To wish for more
Than the alms given,
Mendicants cannot dream
To be Kings.

But the tears too have left me,
How unreliable they have been
What must I depend on next
To keep my clock ticking?
The folly of these tears
Will not be forgotten
As the subterfuge
Of those lost sounds
Pierce my memory sharply,
Emotions are tricksters.

The glass lies broken,
The content spilled
Across the floor,
The thistle has overgrown,
The roses have died,
The tears slipped
And escaped me,
The laughter is long gone,
I’m left with only apathy,
With which to pick up
The broken shards of glass.

~*~*~

32 thoughts on “A Vial of Tears”

  1. some shattered pieces can’t be put back together …. acceptance comes when the tears no longer need to flow ….lovely write thank you x

  2. “But the tears too have left me,
    How unreliable they have been
    What must I depend on next
    To keep my clock ticking?
    The folly of these tears
    Will not be forgotten” I loved this part the best!! Great poem. Blessings, Terri

  3. “I lie like a dream unrequited,
    Encumbered by the weight of existence,” – beautiful lines! You dug deep into your soul to convey such feeling. Very nice!

  4. Surfing the waves of the web I am pleasantly stranded in this beautiful blog.

    I write under the pseudonym of Josè Pascal (a descendant of the great Colonel Aureliano Buendía).

    I invite you to visit my italianglish writing blog http://parolesemplici.wordpress.com/mytinbox/. I define this blog “In parole Semplici” as a “virtuacultural tin” box where they are guarded thoughts, memories, images, sounds, and simple stories. ”

    If you want to participate and to have more informations send me a letter to inparolesemplici@gmail.com

    Good life and I hope to soon
    Josè

  5. oh maaann… the wistfulness and that feeling of feeling lost and forlorn was really immaculately expressed here, girl… the verses in the poem flowed like a river.. a river muddied by rains and storms, but flowing nonetheless… really beautiful!!

    And yea, I read your comment on my poems a few days back… but still haven’t approved thme.. laziness, ya know! 😦 I am so “wordless” these days that I haven’t written a poem for over TWO WEEKS now!! But I sincerely hope that you are out of these deep pits of writer’s block, and for good too! See ya around, DP…

    Love n Hugs!

Leave a Reply

