Dancing

~*~*~

Like forgotten tears,
And frozen fears,
You are a thousand miles away,
I’ll seek you out
You will tell me,
I will listen,
Nothing matters,
Everything changes.

Like petals,
Fallen on the ground
Soft, like a carpet,
Infinitely bound,
Slowly faltering
With each step
Come to me
I reach out to you.

Madness divine,
Tangled, entwined,
I am spinning a web,
You will tear it,
I will still catch you,
Coax you, persuade you,
You cannot escape me,
You will not even try.

The tables turn,
I don’t know you,
You read me like a book,
Why bother? I ask
The world will churn us
Make us into buttery soup
Where will you be,
Where will I?

I will play, you will sing,
We will be one
No, a million,
With one face
You will be me,
I will be you,
We will be different,
As poisoned fangs and soft fur.

A single clink,
Will bring together
Our souls for a moment,
Everlasting memory
I have seen it all,
I have seen nothing,
Come with me
I reach out for you.

But you are too far away.
Innocent, naive
I cannot play with you,
Would you let me?
A drop for a drop,
A smile for a smile,
Come to me,
I will wait for you.

~*~*~

I have submitted the above for Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 40 hosted by Jingle.

44 thoughts on “Dancing”

  1. Oh my god, Sonam… I just melted with this one, girl… it’s stunning!!
    The emotions are absolutely beautifully expressed… (sigh)…
    “As poisoned fangs and soft fur” — LOVED that !! It’s soooo you to bring just a li’l bit of dark into this one… šŸ™‚ You are ONE ROCKING girl!!

    Now.. very interestingly, my most recent poem is on very similar lines.. are we telepathic or what!!! (Kinda in line considering the context of our poems too.. :))

    Hugs to you, DP!! xoxoxo

  2. I looked at the Categories after I read this, Insane Friendship came to mind, in a good way of course… šŸ˜€ …. As Kavita said, ā€œAs poisoned fangs and soft furā€ just leapt out of the page at you .Wonderful Poetry dp, just wonderful to read and experience the mind pictures and emotions felt… xPenx

  3. Would you let me?
    A drop for a drop,
    A smile for a smile,
    Come to me,
    I will wait for you.

    Speechless here! Very beautiful, with hope, with love in between the lines.
    Lovely poem S.!

  4. Epic poetry… this was a fascinating read! Loved the delicate progress, and the chord it strikes.
    Been a long time, havent had much time to blog all this while… Nice to be back, visiting your blog.

  5. Before I start to comment, hit me with a metal spoon please.. for slacking…!!
    (I hope this is the last time I did that)

    Absolutely stunning words! I am stoned.. šŸ˜€
    The last line drifted me to some dreamland.. I felt I was dissolving!

    Hugs xxx

  6. ‘I will play, you will sing,
    We will be one
    No, a million,
    With one face
    You will be me,
    I will be you,
    We will be different,
    As poisoned fangs and soft fur.’

    got me thinking, if I’ve thought/said/felt/cried this before.

  7. Lovely! So imaginative and evocative. I always enjoy your work and never know what I am going to find.

    Bravo … D.

  8. Top class handling and it shows a mastery of the language. I loved this poem very much. Thank you for sharing.

  9. I jaw fell to the floor in awe of this amazing piece of work! very nicely done! the wordplay, the subject, the stanzas, all of it! damn! your good!

    Please check mine too:
    ” Perfect… “

  10. This piece was really touching, you have a wonderful talent for flow and tempo. I could relate this to a love and to the world at large that seems so hard to bring into community. We are all so isolated in the “soup” – Magical words ~ Rose

  11. This is a lot like a realistic relationship and Dancing is a perfect name for this poem. close and far, up and down, yet we all tend to go around when we are in love don’t we. Poison never trumps love, even when it is the bad kind,it is still real and it is always felt by the heart back and forth as it works to keep balance until the end of the song. excellent work!

  12. that was the most beautiful poem. It speaks such volumes to me. I really enjoyed all the visual and discriptives mixed in with your pain and you love and needs. Wow, very, nice job. Thank you

  13. I love this! The line breaks and the shortness of each one gave it a really light feel, but it still was very emotion-evoking. Nice work šŸ™‚

Leave a comment