Lessons

Wandering

~*~*~

Here we stand, like lost souls,
Stranded on the island of our inner thoughts,
With nowhere to go, and nothing to take us away
From the Tempest wrecking havoc
When all we long for is some clarity.

We go on living, without a care
For the dreams that made us who we are
The same which we buried underground
Like treasure hidden beneath the sand
We pine for it, but it is lost, and cannot be found.

Life has a way of teaching us
To adapt asΒ times passes us by
By becoming colder and more indifferent
Towards even what we once felt strongly for
Until someday we have no feelings left at all.

/*Yet somehow, the numbness almost fades
When it comes down to you,
If even for only a moment, it’s all I need…
For now.*/

Faces come and go, like the pages of a dull book,
Read too fast, without peeping in between the lines,
Or really trying to comprehend what has been said,
Yet each word has been glanced at, each letter sounded out,
And we claim we have understood everything.

Disillusionment is the easiest road to choose,
When facing a fork in the State of Confusion,
It seems well lit, but the night is long and dark,
The sun never rises, the moon never sets
And we are prone to stumbling, a little too often.

The journey becomes a compromise
We make one step at a time, one event at a time,
Choosing necessity over our aspirations,
Picking mediocrity in a life we never wanted,
Over the excellence we could have achieved.

Still they tell us to dream, to dream big,
But I’ve lost mine, they fell out from my pocket,
Unnoticed, as they softly fluttered to the ground,
But all hope is not lost, for there must be a way,
To rediscover dreams, and start a sincere chase.

It is time to unlearn, and rebuild.

~*~*~

38 thoughts on “Lessons”

  1. “there must be a way,to rediscover dreams, and start a sincere chase.” … looking for this way all week, still haven’t found it!

    Nice one S.! Contains lots of truth about little things in life!

  2. Yeah, it so much happens.
    You change, adapt, even though you disliked it before.
    It sometimes bothers me how we can be manipulated and often forced by system to follow its trail.
    Nice Post!

  3. Lessons learned, dp, but sometimes it almost feels too painful, and we try to unlearn them. Almost try to forget what has gone before and tried again, whilst hoping against hope for a better outcome. I read this through twice, see? learning my lesson well. Loved it. πŸ˜€ xPenx

  4. “Faces come and go, like the pages of a dull book,
    Read too fast, without peeping in between the lines” πŸ™‚ I smiled at my blog name lol…yes indeed you said it πŸ™‚
    How I have been feeling lately. I am tired of goodbyes. I wonder how most men are so at ease with so much come and go, grrr…Nice piece, quite optimistic and all but I have adapted, no optimism here. It is what it is. Thanks for the visit πŸ™‚

  5. I think this illustrates how many of us go through life–not really noticing, just putting one foot blindly in front of the other–having lost or given up on our dreams. But still, having a bit of hope that not all is lost. I so could relate to this DP. And you presented it so eloquently.

  6. I enjoyed this piece…This part stuck out to me…This piece is heavy and well written.

    “Life has a way of teaching us
    To adapt as times passes us by
    By becoming colder and more indifferent
    Towards even what we once felt strongly for
    Until someday we have no feelings left at all.”

  7. But I’ve lost mine, they fell out from my pocket,
    Unnoticed, as they softly fluttered to the ground,

    These two lines really made the poem personal for me. Great job with imagery and use of words.

  8. True… Big words! It’s never too late to fight for your dreams. Unfortunately, many people forget about that, too occupied with everyday duties.

  9. Many will relate to this poem — including me! Your poem touches on every aspect of dreams deferred. Lost dreams can always be found, if the desire is still there. Very nice poem!

  10. Love the picture, love the poem. I felt like a was reading a journal entry into your mind. Pretty incredible what writing can give to a writer and to a reader. Great job!

  11. My Dear Girl,

    This is my fave! Inspirational, yet dark and ending with hope n resolution is what I love to write.. so when I get to read one; I lap it up like the most delicious serving.. This one is one of those- rare delicacies!!

    Not a single words wasted.. not a single sentence is unreal. This is the story of many a lives.. esp. the ones who are gifted/talented.. Rarely do they get an opportunity to get it all the easy way..

    You said it- it’s time to rediscover dreams, and start a sincere chase. It is time to unlearn, and rebuild.

    I am already teary eyed.. πŸ™‚ silly me!!
    Warm hugs for this one.. xoxoxox

  12. This writing has me sitting here contemplating my life and where my dreams have fallen out of my pocket..good f’ing job

    gotta go look around on the floor for a bit..see ya around

  13. “Faces come and go, like the pages of a dull book…” I really like this stanza. A good illustration of indifference. It’s like you are conquering jaded eyes. Nice.

  14. Your words really resonate with me. The words Picking mediocrity in a life we never wanted, explains allot.
    This is a wonderful poem.
    πŸ™‚ E

  15. the pain of lost dreams… disappointment… but dotn give up… there is always hope and greater dreams… the right dreams πŸ™‚

  16. There is an ocean of truth here…
    And that third stanza was simply STUNNING!! Oh but all others were just as good! Jeeezz… your poems are so reflective and honest… they make me ponder and recalculate stuff…

    Very very beautifully written, my dear…

  17. wow, your writings are the stuff of true wisdom. One would think you are finally blazing ur own path, jumped the rails, and rolling along in your own world now. Im shocked and delighted by what i see in your works. good to see that intellegence has not yet fled these lands.

Leave a Reply

