Forgotten Conversations

Conversations

~*~*~

With a voice so haunting
Like a prophecy spoken aloud
Comes a whisper from the depths
Of a past I was once fond of
Meandering into the crevices
And cracks of my long forsaken heart
Like an unwanted guest,
To stay, but to never depart.

The fountainhead of time mingles
With threads of three colors
Woven into a delicate fabric
Entwined in an embrace, fluid
Changing, mixing, merging
Yet always remaining the same
The form has a taste of permanence
And a ring of eternity, going up in flames.

Stuck like a broken record,
Cacophonous is the bell
That tolls every morning at dawn
The best moments of the past
Have been recorded over
With silence and a black screen
The memories fade to the background
The smiles can no longer be seen.

Vultures come to feast on the carcass
Left behind by words once said
Meant to be obliterated by the listener,
But forced to live on in the dead
It takes two to forget a memory
Or one, if the other never speaks
But when voices whisper in my ear
They find their words cannot be obsolete.

Maybe the words fade to dust
Hidden under layers of faltered trust
And time cannot change
The ash of these remains
Dangling from a troubled mind
So broken and so unkind
And I am always hanging on
To these forgotten conversations, so long.

~*~*~

I’m submitting the above for Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 39, hosted by Jingle.

33 thoughts on “Forgotten Conversations”

  1. Those last 2 stanzas really spoke to me, Sonam..
    And the lines about the vulture, and the 2 to forget, and one if the other forgets — those parts had me going, girl!! So true and really well said..
    I think you’ve woven your words really masterfully here… it seemed to flash some memories into my head… (sigh)..
    Your penchance for bringing out those deepest feelings is really quite awe-inspiring!

  2. “It takes two to forget a memory
    Or one, if the other never speaks
    But when voices whisper in my ear
    They find their words cannot be obsolete.”

    These were the nails that shut the coffin, deep, true, touching…amazing piece!!!

  3. it takes a millisecond to voice the words which can last forever in the mind… A wonderful piece dp, picks you up and casts you about with the flow of the words of this piece… Dark yes, but also so true … xPenx

  4. I couldn’t decide which part of this poem moved me more. The lines …

    It takes two to forget a memory
    Or one, if the other never speaks
    But when voices whisper in my ear
    They find their words cannot be obsolete.

    Spoke most loudly. I am often haunted by memories and wonder if the other person is haunted by them too.

    This is truly lovely!

    Regards … D.

  5. It takes two to forget a memory … oh so true and so sad … Girl, you’ve done it again, brilliance!

  6. Very strong images! Breathtaking words. Touching poem.

    I like those lines in particular:
    ‘The memories fade to the background
    The smiles can no longer be seen’
    And:
    ‘And time cannot change
    The ash of these remains’

    Keep it up πŸ™‚

  7. Although it was sad, this piece contains a lot of truth. I really liked the lines:
    “It takes two to forget a memory
    Or one, if the other never speaks”

    That type of silence can be so deafening that one longs to hear *any* conversation, even ones long since done. I hope you have or do find peace from this. The past cannot be changed, no matter how many tears are shed or poems penned…but you still have a future to look forward to! Make it as bright as you can. Really liked this poem!

  8. The talent you show here is astounding.. you got something special Sonam.
    Meandering into the crevices
    And cracks of my long forsaken heart
    Like an unwanted guest,
    To stay, but to never depart.
    Just an example of great imagery, many more ones throughout this poem . Glad i had a chance to read this. Thanks

  9. Wonderful poem. It’s really those long conversations that color our relationships with people. How I miss the ones I use to share with dear friends.

  10. Hi. I just wanted you to know that I second Blaga’s nomination for you for the Versatile Blogger Award. There’s no pressure to accept, but I think your poetry and blog are pretty special, and you deserve an award for all your effort! Thanks and congratulations!

  11. Good poem. The ideas, rhythm and rhyme combine to move it along well. For me, the heart of it is here:
    “. . .words once said
    Meant to be obliterated by the listener,
    But forced to live on in the dead
    It takes two to forget a memory
    Or one, if the other never speaks
    But when voices whisper in my ear
    They find their words cannot be obsolete.”

    The feelings come through so articulately in this. The idea of the one person remembering and the other forgetting is the one that resonates with me. In my experience, it is more often the one that perceives a hurt that will carry the memory, and hard.

    It seems to me there are times when the one perceived to be inflicting the hurt has no awareness or sensitivity around how the other person took it. Sometimes further words can help. Others not.

    The cases where not are often the hardest to live with. Just accepting can be so much harder than any constructive effort to mend things. I like the final couplet as well,
    “And I am always hanging on
    To these forgotten conversations, so long,”
    because I can read the “so long” in two ways– for a long time, and, in the sense of good bye, a completion and letting go, after a very long difficult time of carrying the memories. It leaves an interesting ambiguity about whether there is full, partial, or no completion to the carrying/holding on time.
    Here is the link to my Rally entry:
    http://elainedanforth.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/light-was-not-always/

Leave a Reply

