Lessons

Lost in Space and Time

~*~*~

Are there pain killers for a broken heart?
For the ache intensifies all through the day.
Exhaustion clings fast, pulling me under the waves.
The tears soak my pillow, as my eyes close for the night.

Maybe life takes us for a rough ride,
So we can appreciate the streaks of joy,
In this otherwise disenchanting life.

I never thought, before words slipped my mouth,
And you knew more than I cared to tell.
Yet, never did I stop this stream of thoughts,
I just believed you would always understand.

I never felt the need to hide myself,
From the people who mattered to me most,
Only that I never meant enough to them.

Oceans of regret lay in front of me,
My impulsiveness always leading to roads,
Of mistakes I never had intentions to make,
But actions based on raw emotion always lead to misery.

Though I always find myself drowning in fits of emotion,
Sometimes the recklessness of the heart pays off,
In rare moments of absolution.

I could never stand to be disappointed,
Always taking to heart words spoken by another,
Trusting where I never should have dared to trust,
Only to face these demons called frustration.

The heart is naive, like an innocent child,
Sometimes it needs to feel this disillusionment,
To grow wise with regard to this unfair world.

What did I not do to keep this thread from breaking?
Yet, still did the thread sever, without a hint,
Of even the faintest weakness,
And I found myself falling to the ground.

The ground was hard, and unfriendly,
Yet had I not been hurt so badly,
How could my real friends have picked me up?

Always did I try to understand, anotherโ€™s circumstances,
Though I was rarely understood,
And the voices in my head still haunt me,
Why should I not judge, when others always do.

Yet, how could I have chosen to be critical of their actions,
For what right do we have to judge,
When we ourselves are flawed?

In this world where honesty and ethics have no place,
Still did I try my best to do the right.
Often I found myself being left behind,
Even by those for whom I took a strong stand.

Had I faltered in my choices between right and wrong,
The guilt would have followed me around for life,
Like the pain seeping through the walls of this prison.

It is only with sadness, with the taste of salty tears,
That we learn to appreciate the ring of laughter.
It is only with mistakes and failures,
That we learn to pick ourselves up when we fall.

So I walk this road ahead of me,
As a smile touches the corners of my lips,
And I walk into the embracing arms of life.

~*~*~

Note: No internet connection at home, so it will be hard for me to reply to posts and visit fellow bloggers. I would just like to Apologize in advance. Have a great weekend!

33 thoughts on “Lessons”

  1. BRAVO!! (clapping till my hands hurt!! )
    How well you have brought out the thoughts, emotions and conflicts going on in a disappointed mind!
    “I never felt the need to hide myself,
    From the people who mattered to me most,
    Only that I never meant enough to them.” — can very well relate to this! I personally loved these lines, and I almost cried here!! Can give you a hug for just writing this!! Phheewww

    Ant yet, despite the poor judgments and criticism and frustration, the light at the end of this treacherous dreadful tunnel is brilliant! Loved the end of your poem.. so full of hope and positivity…

    Great Piece, DP!!! Much love for this one.. you truly are amazing!

    1. Thank you Kavita! Really appreciate that you liked it so much. There are so many thoughts that run through one’s mind, and sometimes we need to look at the positive aspect of all the bad things that happen to us.

      I feel very deeply for the lines you pointed out too. Aww, I hope that you don’t have to feel the intensity of such incidences ever again. It hurts a lot.

      I just thought that it is about time that a little positivity came out of this deadpoet, and I do feel much more positive. ๐Ÿ™‚ There is a light at the end of every dark tunnel.

      You’re really amazing too! ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Aww nanno1982, didn’t mean to make you cry. It is a hard life, and well, it is always a slap on the face to wake up, but at least we’ve woken up ๐Ÿ™‚

      All the best! Hope all is well.

    1. Why thank you Richard! You are too kind. I am very glad that you liked it. I still say, you are a much better poet than I can ever be. Your work is absolutely brilliant, and you are so talented with respect to other things as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. true true very true… I feel the same most of the time… Wondering if I really fit into this world… you have writte my heart out there…

    1. I often wonder whether I fit in the world too. I think I don’t…but I don’t mind it. I like the way I am. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I think somewhere, we all can relate to at least parts of this.

Leave a Reply

