Moonlight

Howling at the Moon

~*~*~

The bells ring in the distance,
Night has fallen.
The moon plays hide and seek
With the whimsical clouds.

A howl can be heard,
Shattering the silence.
As the rays of the silvery orb
Fall softly to the ground.

A single thread of moonlight
Creeps through the windowpane.
I feel a twitching in my fingers,
Now is the time to transform.

The senses sharpen,
The mind becomes a hazy daze.
I can smell flesh and blood,
Now is the time to kill…

~*~*~

This Β is my first attempt at horror poetry (is that what one would call it?). I posted this poem on Undead Poets’ Society as well, at: Moonlight

~*~*~

I hope you don’t mind me taking the liberty to ask a favor, but can you please take out a few minutes to visit my photography blog at: Ripples Through this Imagination. I would really appreciate it as I have recently taken up photography as a hobby and I would appreciate all the feedback I can get. Thank you so much!

30 thoughts on “Moonlight”

  1. “Now is the time to kill…”
    looks like there will be a sequel to this poem!

    also, very aptly chosen picture.

  2. I love the full moon nights and i really have the habit of howling at nights… Sounds crazy but I love doing that πŸ™‚
    nice work

    1. I love full moon nights too! Very interesting habit you have, like a wolf! I love listening to dogs/wolves howl at the moon. Thank you for reading, I am glad you liked it!

  3. Sweet poem!…but not scary (im SORRY :P)

    “The bells ring in the distance,
    Night has fallen.
    The moon plays hide and seek
    With the whimsical clouds.”

    “As the rays of the silvery orb
    Fall softly to the ground.”
    – these lines are almost romantic!

    It gives me impression of a cute little werewolf, trying to act dangerous…:)

    1. Dude, your sense of cute is messed up πŸ˜› Cute little werewolf??

      As for the so-called romantic lines, I was building up the feeling of the poem. You must know that the full moon is an essential element for werewolf transformation πŸ˜›

      Thanks for your feedback though. will try to incorporate more creepiness into my next horror poem πŸ˜›

  4. honestly…in my mind, I have the image of a sweet wolfling, trying to sound dangerous in a cute way..
    your poem is fabulous as always though..:)

    1. Hehe, you have a funny way of seeing things πŸ˜› I’ll just try harder next time to make it sound like a real dangerous werewolf in every way πŸ˜›

      Thanks, it’s not that good, but it’s a first attempt πŸ™‚ So forgive me πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

