The End

Solitude

~*~*~

Some days I look upon the sky,
With a singing in my heart.
Some days the singing turns in to
Voices I once sought.
“Leave not, leave not!” in despair,
My heart does always shout.
Alas, in the end,
You’re gone my friend,
In the end you’ve left without a thought…

~*~*~

The despair, the agony, the pain of living,
How difficult it is to endure.
My heart longs for this last breath,
As the distance darkens between us.
Was it too much for me to ask,
Or only too much for you to give?
My grief has blinded,
Taken away even the faintest glimmer of light,
As the world falls asunder.
The dawn bringsΒ  no warmth,
Twilight brings no chill,
And I am falling deeper,
Into the depths of dolorous passion,
As I close my eyes one last time,
And take this final breath…

~*~*~

Sinking deep into my solitude,
Longing for a future I can never have.
The past echoes my feelings,
But the present sings an alien song.
Hope poisons this broken heart,
Clouding this mind.
This is the end my friend,
The end.

~*~*~

19 thoughts on “The End”

  1. “Was it too much for me to ask,
    Or only too much for you to give?” – This is a question whose answer we may never know…
    And yet, solitude is that gift that could really bring out the best in us – the hidden best, that even we didn’t know existed! But only if treated as a gift.
    If treated otherwise, solitude is a damned curse.. one that haunts till the end.. and end which you now begin to dream of, and which you now begin to crave for.

    Such an apt and perfect word-play in your poem!
    So poignant and reflective…

    1. I agree, solitude is a gift, and we should realize that and use it wisely. Of course being alone all the time is no good, but we all need some time to ourselves.

      There are many answers we may never know, but we spend our whole lives searching for.

      Thanks for your appreciation, it means a lot to me πŸ™‚

  2. Sinking deep into my solitude…I loved this so and have read it again…there is so much potential in poetry and you have a unique way of putting it to words. I will go look at your photography. Wonderful work ~ Amanda x

    1. Yes, hope is frightening, especially when you don’t know when to stop hoping and start moving on. When that happens, hope becomes a poison.

      Thanks πŸ™‚

    1. Aww thanks! I’ll have a post up according to the rules soon! πŸ™‚

      I was very happy to see that I’m not the only one who dislikes the color pink. Though I am still not ready to give up on disliking it, I do find the award very pretty πŸ˜€

  3. ur right hope is frightening coz v might live out our lives hoping for that which may never be…wonderful poem..i’m adding u to my blogroll…have a great day:)

Leave a Reply

