Unrequited

Thorns

~*~*~

‘Twas the song of a solitary nightingale,
The sadness and beauty satiated the air with warmth.
Ne’er hath this heart within me been so lively,
As when thou looked into mine eyes and saw my soul.

Oh, this evanescence of beautiful dreams,
Had they lingered even the length of a moment longer,
Their beauty would have faded into the night,
Leaving a soft mist in place of these dreams of mine heart.

When I dream of thee in the wisp of the night,
I feel thy presence around me, e’en in mine heart.
And I wish the night stretches on for eternity,
That I might feel thy friendship wrapping around me always.

Thou art the cherry blossoms in early spring,
Showering this earthen beauty with thy soft petals.
The branches heavy with thy goodness and love,
And a promise, in the heart of thy admirer, for a new dawn.

The reflections on the flowing river, of a sun recently risen,
The birds singing their morning songs of joy.
Unquenchable thirst for time to come to a standstill,
Mine heart divided between my wish and the will of thy mind.

Thy voice lingers in the air, my thoughts inundated by thee,
My voice beckons thee to hold me in thine arms.
I wait, eagerly, desperately, to hear the faintest reply,
But the silence, so deafening, returns me not a sound.

The moonlight illuminates, when the sun hath set,
Only thy voice can brighten the shadows of mine heart.
Silently I pine in the darkness, for a glimmer of light,
Fading, falling, into these endless depths.

If thou hadst known the turmoil of mine heart,
Would thou hast left me more than the touch of thy breath?
Nay, to thee, I was but a stranger, no different from another
To me, thou wast mine only reason to smile.

~*~*~

23 thoughts on “Unrequited”

  1. hi deadpoet,

    i am thrilled to read this poem about unrequited love. it seems that we had a parallel mind. yours is much more eloquent and the lines were strong expressions of longing and sadness. i know how it feels to be lonely when you need to be with someone you truly love. and i like this line “Mine heart divided between my wish and the will of thy mind”.

    this is the state where love has already accepted its fate. but i think, true love is not about being around with the person you love. true love is about the affection that still lingers even the passing of time and the distance has never broken that bond between lovers, even death.

    thank you for sharing this wonderful poem. all the best in your writing.

    1. Thank you Marvin,

      I must disagree with you on the eloquence of my lines compared to yours, I honestly feel you touched upon the subject in a very intelligent manner, truly a very good piece you have there.

      Yes, you are indeed right that true love is about the affection that remains as time passes. We are all capable of loving a person when times are good, or initially when we are still getting to know a person, but true love would prevail in spite of everything.

      Saddest is the love which remains unrequited. It is painful indeed when you know you truly love a person, but cannot be with them. That too may be true love from your side, but what can be done?

      Thank you for your appreciation 🙂

      ~deadpoet

  2. very nice, you put a lot of work into this, I know, believe me, I know. I wish they had a course on archaic language. perhaps when I take literature in the fall…

    1. Thank you, I couldn’t have done the above without your help, so much credit must be given to you. It was quite tough, and I am still not sure whether I was able to perfect it, but I enjoyed writing it.

      I wish we had a course on archaic language as well. I hope the literature class will be good for you. 🙂

  3. The overtones of sadness and longing here are wonderful. It is hard to write well on a subject as well covered as unrequited love, but you definitely did it with a flourish. Enjoyed reading the poem and feeling along with the narrator.

    crb.

  4. The tones of sadness and longing here have touched my heart…I also recall of reading this before…your mastery of phrases are just BRILLIANT!!! Thanks for linking DP…you rock my friend xx

  5. Oooohhh.. awesome!! Jeeeez DP, you really have a way with words! A fantastic way at that!!

    Thou hast shown me thy darkest pain
    Tween these line, I see thy beating heart
    Singing the sweetest, yet the saddest song
    Fluttering at the slightest sounds…hoping…

    Hats off to you, DP!!! This was super perfection!
    Thank you for linking it up at Poetry Potluck! I have decided that my day is kinda incomplete if I haven’t read at least ONE of your poems! Now I will make it a point to read all your poems – 1 a day – starting with the oldest!
    Luv ya, sweets!!
    I hope your internet problem gets resolved soon… xoxo

  6. Very surreal and interesting… Loved the image that you have painted using Victorian English… I loved the words a lot…
    “Oh, this evanescence of beautiful dreams,
    Had they lingered even the length of a moment longer,
    Their beauty would have faded into the night,”
    Perfectly said…

    āĨ ā¤¨ā¤Žā¤ƒ ā¤ļā¤ŋā¤ĩā¤žā¤¯
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter @VerseEveryDay
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

